Couch-to-5k week 5.1: cautiously optimistic

I hit up the gym after work (well… after going to Niketown and spending a bit too much) for the first run of C25K week 5. This is the walk 5, run 5, walk 3, run 5, walk 3, run 5, walk 5 workout. I hadn’t eaten lunch aside from a peanut butter Balance bar (mmm so tasty) so I was feeling the early pangs of hunger, but I went ahead and started the run out at 4.5 mph.

I actually didn’t feel bad. I didn’t feel GOOD either, but it was kind of an uncomfortably positive, I-feel-like-I’m-working here sensation. My legs weren’t entirely happy but they didn’t complain like they normally do. Not sure if that’s due to the treadmill (as opposed to the road) or my fitness improving but I’ll take it! I actually kept expecting that feeling to disappear and be replaced with my usual exhaustedness, haha.

For the 2nd 5-min run I upped the speed to 4.7 and fell into a pretty good cruising rhythm. It felt like my legs were finally able to stretch and recoil without protest and my breathing hit a sustainable, consistent pattern. I just cruised along listening to the techno music in the C25K podcast and watching the silent TV in front of me. The 5 min seemed to be over fairly quickly and I fell back to walking at 3.5 mph. When the final segment rolled around I upped the speed again (just barely… heh) to 4.8 and managed to find my rhythm, again not feeling GOOD per se but feeling like I was working, making progress, plunging forward as opposed to dragging my sorry bum along. When the podcast announced the last minute of the run I pushed it to 5mph (oh man so fast! ;p) and was able to maintain that pace through the end, slowing to the final cooldown walk.

It felt pretty good, and like I could actually be making steps forward. The 2nd run of this week doesn’t sound too awful at this point (walk 5, run 8, walk 5, run 8, walk 5). The full 20-minuter at the end of the week is still intimidating but I think I can do it!

Modified schedule for the rest of the week (based off the weather and my available gym days):

Tues: rest or Wii Fit yoga
Wed: Wii Fit yoga or rest
Thurs: Couch-to-5k week 5.2 @ the gym
Fri: rest
Sat: Couch-to-5k week 5.3 outside (<– 20 min of running.. aiee!)

Ganbatte!

Leave a Reply

