Slight setback

I stepped on the scale tonight to discover my week of being sick (and lazy) took a toll on my progress. I gained 7 pounds last week! 7!

Now, I know all is not lost, and I also hadn’t been the best about keeping up with healthy eating even in the weeks before I was sick (peanut butter and chocolate ice cream, as delicious as it may be, is not to be eaten every night at 9pm), but it’s still kind of a bummer to have to beat back fat I already lost once before.

I went out for a 4-mile run after work in pretty much perfect running weather (well, except for the last 3/10 of a mile when the skies decided it was looking a little too dry down below and opened up a can of downpour, but that just made me finish faster). I actually felt fairly strong the whole way in spite of the 9 days off. Still haven’t gone under a 10-min-mile average for 4 miles but am getting close! (Unless you go by the mysterious “average moving pace,” though I’m not sure why my Garmin differentiates between moving and non-moving?)

perhaps I need to work on my hill pace >_> also, mouse-pointer-in-screenshot fail

My calves are really sore since that run but maybe that’s also due to all the time off. I also feel another cold coming on (NOOOOOOoooOOOoOoOooo) so I’ve been trying to nuke it from orbit with vitamins before it gets rollling. I think I can deal with just a head cold, but another chest cold would be like a giant bucket of fail…

Leave a Reply

