Onward and upward

Took my legs for their first spin since NODM this evening. I’d only been planning to take 3 rest days, but I woke up the morning after the race and couldn’t take a full breath – it was like someone was pressing on my lungs and I would start coughing if I tried to breathe normally. The weird shortness of breath thing really only started to dissipate this morning. It was nice to get some air back in my lungs tonight and discover that no, all my fitness did not ooze out of me in the 5 days I took off. I did get a wee bit tired but felt strong in the last half mile of the run.. hopefully a good sign!

Seattle RnR half in 2 weeks! o_o I’ll probably repeat the final 2 weeks of the Hal Higdon half training plan (maybe with an 11 or 12-mile long run on Saturday instead of the 10 I did before) and taper again down to the race. I think my new goals will be 1.) finish in 2:30 or less, and 2.) run the whole race (except for water stops, I’m cool with walking those ;) – which basically means “don’t wuss out on steep hills and don’t walk half of mile 12”

Looking back on NODM I am kind of bummed that I gave in to the Walk Monster so easily in the final stages of the race (of course in hindsight it’s easy to overlook how hot/crappy/tired/ready to roll off the course and flop in the grass I felt at the time) and I’ve been thinking about some kind of motivational phrase to hammer into myself when I hit the wall again, as I surely will. I really like Hebrews 12:1-2:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Of course that’s a little… long for a motivational phrase, but the “let us RUN with endurance the race that is set before us” part could work.

It’s that or “If you walk you have to listen to Beiber albums for a week” (a fate srsly worse than death)

Leave a Reply

