Awkward running and don’t spill your fruit

One thing I’ve noticed in looking over my race photos is that all my finish-line pics have something in common. It seems at the end of a race, when I’m tired/sprinting/giving it all I’ve got, I start running kind of awkwardly/crookedly:

You probably didn't need the Helpful Arrow, but I gave you one anyway! for science!

Pictures of me in the middle of races don’t seem to have this weird bendy-leg thing going on, so I don’t know if it’s something I just do at this exact point of my stride, or something that only happens when I’m tired. Regardless, I don’t really know how to FIX it… or if I even need to… but it kinda looks like I’m going to snap an ankle, heh!

Should I go in for a stride evaluation somewhere and see what they have to say?

In other news, I did day 5 of Jillean Michaels’ 30-day shred yesterday and I am feeling it today! Moreso in the legs/chest than the abs, which is what I really want to work on, but progress is progress!

I’ve been thinking a lot about my posture lately (and not just because I end up with a lot of slouchy race photos) – keeping my shoulders back/down, keeping my gut sucked in. One of my best friends is a massage therapist and she was telling me they learned a great phrase for keeping your pelvis upright – think of your pelvis like a bowl, and your guts like fruit. When you tip your pelvis forward (like a lot of us gals do, arching our backs a little too much and sticking the gut out) it’s like spilling the fruit. Don’t spill the fruit!

So I’ve been walking around everywhere sucking in my tummy and thinking “don’t spill the fruit, don’t spill the fruit” … heh.

Leave a Reply

