To go to bed late and get up early makes a man cross, mean, and surly

I’ve been thinking lately that maybe it’s time for me to switch to early morning running. As it is now I’m chasing the light to get my runs in before dark after I get home from work, and within a month or so they will ALL be dark after work. Running in the dark at night kind of freaks me out for a few reasons, but running in the MORNING darkness doesn’t sound as scary – the bad guy types probably aren’t early risers, after all. That, and it would be nice to get my run out of the way early and not have to worry about it for the rest of the day.

However, I’m also a night owl, totally not a morning person, and usually shower at night – so getting up early to run in the morning would completely throw off my existing lifestyle, if you can call it that.

The other option that I’m trying to avoid resigning myself to is running on gym treadmills all winter… but the mere thought of that is enough to turn me into Eeyore. (#firstworldproblems?)

Have you ever made the switch to morning running? What helped you pull it off – especially if you’re a night owl at heart?

Leave a Reply

