Valentine’s Day Dash 5k 2/9/13

I think my post on Dailymile (quickly hammered out via mobile phone) sums this one up pretty well:

This seems to be the only race that makes me feel like barfing afterward (maybe because it’s always been my first race of the year after slacking off all winter, ha ha). Aside from brief post-race mouth-clutching, I felt alright, if a little tired. A few friends came out to watch me finish, hurray!

I didn’t realize it at the time but I actually managed to pull off a PR in this race, which both reminds me how much faster I probably could go if I didn’t slack off when I start to feel tired, and also how slow I am in general (but oh well to that!)

My official time was 28:18, that extra second totally makes a difference you know ;)

My official time was 28:18, that extra second totally makes a difference you know ;) Also, yay Garmin Connect app!

Henry!

note scratches from the time I biffed it.

Two of my friends came out in time to watch me finish (parking was CRAZY around Green Lake so I didn’t catch them beforehand) which was fun, though I didn’t get to poke through the expo (and I heard they were giving out CAKE) since they wanted to go get coffee – but the coffee was most welcome and I enjoyed having people there to watch me, that’s quite a rarity for me!

I also realized that if I want to be able to easily find myself in race photos, I need to NOT wear the same color that 90% of the other participants are wearing… Needless to say I only found one, and it’s a squatty-looking “hey that’s me in the background” shot (I’m to the left of the dude in the gray):

Yes that's the same overshirt I've worn in like my last 5 races, clearly I need to mix it up a bit

Yes that’s the same overshirt I’ve worn in like my last 5 races, clearly I need to mix it up a bit

This was also the first run outdoors in my new shoes – Brooks PureFlow2’s, my first pair of Brooks and first real lightweight pair of shoes. I loved them in the store but they felt pretty strange on their maiden voyage on my treadmill – weird and poundy and top-of-foot-achey. I was a bit dismayed, but knowing I’m a bit of a treadmill pounder anyway (it just sucks the life out of me) I decided to give them a go in the race, and they felt amaaaaaazing. Lightweight and cushioned and nary a bit of foot aching! Recommend!

I preferred the look of the PureFlows, but the PureFlow2 was a lot more comfy for my wide flat feet... I swear I descend from hobbits

I preferred the look of the PureFlows, but the PureFlow2 was a lot more comfy for my wide flat feet… I swear I descend from hobbits

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Dash 5k 2/9/13

  1. Sounds like it was a great race :)
    I sometimes think that I might be able to run faster if I pushed myself more, too. After my first marathon (next weekend) I’m going to seriously consider what I want out of my running. It might just be that I want to run at whatever pace I’m feeling at the moment. It also might be that I start to make some efforts to improve my speed. We’ll see! Glad I stopped by… do you have another blog? You mentioned Dailymile…
    (www.nowirun.com)

    • Thanks for visiting! Yeah, I think with me I hit a certain mental point where my brain tries to sabotage me from pushing any harder, and I need to learn to blaze through that wall… it’s like, I’m 99.9 percent certain I will NOT die if I just keep up the intensity, so KEEP PUSHING, haha. This is my only runblog, and I do have a dailymile profile at http://www.dailymile.com/people/dailynightly!

Leave a Reply

