Half training week 4

Well! I’ve sucked at blogging, but fortunately not at training! I’m at the end of week 4 of NODM training and am actually feeling really good about it so far (a far cry from last year when training sucked noodles). Weirdly enough I’ve been doing most of my runs on my treadmill, even though it is a torture device of energy-sucking boredom – this is partly because there was a weird rash of abduction attempts in the greater Seattle area earlier this year, and also because I finally upgraded my crappy old CRT TV to something a bit more current, and I can watch movies across the room from my treadmill without having to squint and imagine half of what’s going on! ;) I told myself I would take my runs back to the streets when daylight savings hit, which hasn’t happened yet, but I have a feeling it will as my runs ramp up in distance (I did a 5-miler on the ‘mill last weekend and that’s probably about the limit of how long I want to spend on that thing)

Anyway! Here’s how my training went this week:

Sunday – scheduled stretch/strength
On Sundays I usually do Jillian Michaels’ “Yoga Meltdown” DVD. It’s kind of a weird combination of yoga moves and body weight resistance training. This week I did Level 1 since some of the moves in Level 2 are wrist-killers.

Monday – scheduled 3.5 mile run
I waited a little too long and ended up only having time to fit in 3 on the treadmill (9:38 pace, AMAZING for me on the mill) before the noise curfew at my apartment building (10pm). Watched the finale of the Biggest Loser while I ran… dang they take off a TON of weight!

Tuesday – scheduled cross training
Did Level 2 of Jillian Michaels “Ripped in 30” DVD. I hate pushups.

Wednesday – scheduled cross training
Level 1 of Ripped in 30. My shoulders were popping on some of the side plank moves… weird.

Thursday – scheduled 3.5 mile run
3.5 on the ‘mill (9:38 pace average; middle mile was at my half goal pace) while watching bonus material for the Two Towers. I’ve been reading Lord of the Rings so I’ve been on a bit of a Tolkien kick… the book is WAAAAAAY different than the movies, but I guess that’s always the case!

Friday – rest day!

Tomorrow I have a 5-miler scheduled, which I’ll hopefully do outside, and then it’s on to week 5! I’m kind of surprised my treadmill pace has gone down so much – I’m always far slower on a ‘mill than I am on the roads, so hopefully I’ll feel like I’m flying over the pavement tomorrow ;)

Leave a Reply

