Half training week 9

Training’s been chugging along, even if I’ve been guilty of not keeping it updated on ye ole blog. Apologies to both of my readers! ;P

I was still emerging from the mucusy bowels of the sickness I had for around 3 and a half weeks, but finally felt like I got the better of it during this week of training. I think the missed workouts had an impact, though…

Sunday 4/21/13
Scheduled: Cross train
Actual: Did Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD (35 min)

Monday 4/22/13
Scheduled: 5 miles
Actual: Ran 3 miles on the dreadmill with the middle mile at what was then my half goal pace of 9:25. Was still building mileage back from being sick and didn’t want to kill myself on the mill.

Tuesday 4/23/13
Scheduled: Cross train
Actual: Got home too late to do anything and ended up calling this a rest day.

Wednesday 4/24/13
Scheduled: 5 miles
Actual: Ran 4.35 miles outside, 40:56, 9:25 pace – my first run outdoors since 2/9. It was abundantly apparent that I’d been running on a treadmill at 0% incline for the last 2 and a half months… the hills on my old running route were killing me! Was kind of a humbling run – somehow I thought I’d be faster after so much treadmill running. HA HA

Thursday 4/25/13
Scheduled: Cross train
Actual: Jillian Michaels DVD – Level 4 of Ripped in 30.

Friday 4/26/13
Scheduled: Rest day
Actual: Rested!

Saturday 4/27/13
Scheduled: 8 miles
Actual: Ran 7 miles outside. I switched things up and ran about 3/4 of my normal loop, then diverted course and ran over to Discovery Park to run the loop trail. In hindsight it was a poor decision (especially considering I was running a 5k the next day) .. I’d forgotten how hilly the trail is, and the uneven terrain didn’t help my tiredness. I totally crawled up some of the hills and this ended up my slowest run in over a year. The important thing is, I got it done, but my confidence in my overall fitness is kind of shaky now… might have to re-evaluate my plans to try to PR at my half in June, and maybe just shoot for “finish and don’t die!”

My Garmin's interpretation of the trail. WEE

My Garmin’s interpretation of the trail elevation. WEE

Needless to say, I was not prepared for that! I’m not sure if I should try to add hills/speedwork into my training plan this far into it, or just continue chugging along and hope for the best.

Sunday 4/28/13
Scheduled: Cross train
Actual: Ran the Top Pot Donut 5k (on tired legs!) and actually didn’t do horrible, but got preeeeettty tired. The free donut made it worthwhile, though!

Huffing and puffing to the finish. I hope I'm looking at my watch and not just wildly flailing my arms. Also, ugliest watermark evar

Huffing and puffing to the finish. I hope I’m looking at my watch and not just wildly flailing my arms. Also, ugliest watermark evar

2 thoughts on “Half training week 9

    • Thanks! :) The donut was 400 calories of awesome! I’ve been following your running adventures for awhile – I’m sorry you have to go through THE BOOT again!! Hope recovery isn’t so drawn-out this time!

Leave a Reply

