Seattle Rock n Roll half marathon 6/21/14

So since this race was a year ago and I never wrote a proper recap, I figured I’d just post the notes I scribbled down and some pics from the race so I at least have something to remember it by! (I fail at blogging)

-goal, once again, sub-2, and also not to poop self :P
-but I know this baby is hilly
-expo day before, rode the Brooks shoe, wandered around, went to pho, played basketball, played bocci ball, watched the conjuring (GAH)

Expo madness

Expo madness

-crashed at Jeff’s the night before to get up early and carpool w/ him and Nat
-forgot water bottle… crap!
-got there a little late and still needed to poo… started to freak out, Jeff held my hand to calm me down (we ran into an official photographer, who was like “want a picture?” I said “Sure!” and Jeff said “no!” right at the same time haha) and we found the brooks VIP potties in the nick of time as corrals were going off, made it into corral 16, hugged Jeff goodbye!

HA! This VIP potty saved my bacon

HA! This VIP potty saved my bacon

Waiting to launch

Waiting to launch

Just glad I got that PRP outta the way!

Just glad I got that PRP outta the way!

-annnnd we’re off! somehow zipped the first 3 miles, mile 3 was 7:59, holy poop! (downhill)

Stomping downhill in my fastest mile

Stomping downhill in my fastest mile

-drinking from all the water stops since I didn’t have my bottle, they were like a slip and slide zone, wee!
-rainier ave – the mountain right in front of us looming beautifully
-J texted that Nat had started 2 corrals back, texted him a bit
-Nat caught me around mile 5.75 at the wee out and back dogleg and flew on toward lake washington
-hit the 10k mat in a new 10k PR! ran under the brooks guy, along the lake, passed a photographer and raised my arm in the air, which prompted the guy next to me to remark “did you just flex?”
-walked the steep crappy hill, allowed myself 30 more sec, started running again which actually felt really good
-chugged thru tunnel – gangnam style!
-zipped along the freeway on the other side, chugging along, kept looking for Nat
-charged the downhill, hit 10 mile mat, doooown into the city
-slogging up 2nd ave started to kill me, started to chug
-up to the viaduct.. chugging but trying to enjoy the view

Chugging along on the viaduct

Chugging along on the viaduct

-cambered Battery St. tunnel bleh, just trying to keep it going repeating my running mantras.. “I’ve done this before, I can do it again” “If I stop now I won’t start again” “Be tough”
-was suddenly right on top of the mile markers and thought I had a chance to PR… pushed up that dang Mercer St hill only to hit the top and see the finish line was still sooooo far away (and my watch had already passed 13.1) and said out loud “you’ve got to be kidding me”
-slogged in the final 4/10 of a mile (sooo loooong) saw J right before the finish and Nat right after, who killllllled it in 1:49, took pics with him

Nat KILLED it. he's a beast

Nat KILLED it. he’s a beast

-ended up in 2:01 even with the long course…. sooo close!

WIth the armfuls of crap you get

WIth the armfuls of crap you get

-watched the concerts (ugh to Sir Mixalot) got sunburned, then went to red robin

We're down there to the lower left

We’re down there to the lower left!

Leave a Reply

